Tamiya’s 1/35th Sd.Kfz.184 Schwerer Jagdpanzer “Elefant”

 “Painting”

 This is a Tamiya “re release” of an earlier kit. This kit has fine surface detail, and new individual/partial track sections. I was not so thrilled with the tracks, so I bought a track set by Hobby Boss. I also bought an 88 barrel, as well as MG34 tips, both by Arber. The kit has three nicely detailed crewmen, which I will use in another kit. The sections fit really easy. PE would have made it truly awesome.

 I went the “modulation” route, using AK interactive German Dunkelgelb Modulation Set.

 I used MIG red brown and Olivgrun opt. 2A for the patch camo. I applied Testors Model Master Acrylic Gloss Clear Coat.

Let dry for two days and then applied a wash of AK Summer Kursk Earth, MIG Brown Wash, and for the tracks I sprayed them with Vallejo Black Grey and applied MIG Ammo Streaking Rust Effects. I will do some more pin washes, where needed, plus adding a light rust wash.

Elefant Pic 5

Elefant Pic 7

Elefant Pic 8

Elefant Pic 9

