Dragons Panther Ausf A Late (6168)

The Build

This kit was released as DML #6168 during 2003.The kit comes with a number of sprues from the earlier D model kit (B, C, D, E, G and H) and G model kits (sprue F) as well as 55 new parts on the A and M sprues. These cover the new upper hull and turret, back plate, glacis, and other fittings which separate a late model A from an early D model. The new parts also cover the mantlet, three-pipe exhaust, and numerous small detail fittings.

The tracks consist of 192 individual links , I opted to go for workable metal tracks with resin pins. Master Club,a company in Russia,they truly are the real deal .

The upper hull features very nice surface details with engraved panel lines, there is also bolt head detail around the turret race ring that you don’t see when the turret is in place.

I decided to go with Zimmerit, so I went ahead and bought the Atak Zimmerit Sheets,they are very thinand easy to work with. I applied them with “Gator Glue”,an acyrlic adhesive. I used Squadron white putty to work the Zimmerit Sheets together.

The kit came with no rear engine deck PE grills, So I went ahead and used Alliance Panther A / D Grill Mesh for Dragon kits.

Also included is a small decal sheet and side Schuerzen (soft steel skirts) included as pre-cut thin plastic card, a nice touch. They just didn’t do anything for me so I am going to use Voyager Models,side steel skirts.

The turret also features very nice surface details with separate commander’s cupola, rear plate which in turn has a separate circular hatch.

The loader’s periscope is also a separate piece as are all the other items on the turret roof. I went ahead and used the clear German AFV Periscope Set, from FineMolds,from Japan.

I subsituted the two piece Barrel for a Jordio Rubio one that I had in my stash,I didn’t have the muzzle break,so I used the one off the plastic barrel.

Overall, it’s a nice kit with nice details everywhere and correctly shows the features of an late Ausf.A Panther. Not bad for 2003.

Closeup Rear Deck Build

Front Build

Left Front Build

Left Side Build

Master Club Tracks

