Trumpeter 1/35 Bergepanzer IV

Assembly and Paint

The construction of this kit was not a weekend project. It required time, patience, skill, and a little luck to build. It is beautifully detailed and the major parts fit quite nicely.
This was my first Bergepanzer. It was a real joy. Yet in some cases, a real challenge for my patience and skill. I loved constructing the interior. I feel the painting and weathering really stand out. Naturally I had to leave the rear engine and cooling hatches unglued. Also the front transmission hatch and the wood platform. If not, all this would be for nothing.
I primarily used Vallejo acrylic paints. For the wash and pigments, I used AK Interactive and MIG and MIG AMMO.
The exterior was well detailed and had options for either photo-etched detail parts or their crisp detailed plastic parts.
The tracks are individual links and went together without any problems.
Next came the crane assembly. The large jib crane has four “arms” with separate attachment brackets. These can be assembled so the arms are movable, if you’re careful with the glue. This will allow you to deploy or stow the crane as you wish.
The chain that came with the kit is used to support the extended crane arm which is deployed with a highly detailed block and tackle comprised of twelve parts for the end of the crane arm.

15

12

14

22

24

25

26

27

28

30

29

30